It’s been along time

Hello every one It’s been a long time since my last blog. We were very busy over Christmas and New Years.  I hope ever-one had a great holiday season.

For the last 2 months I have been working on my largest painting to date 30″X40″.  For me that is large. I decided to do the painting in acrylic and it has been a learning experience.  Working this large you have to step back quite a few times to see the next direction to paint.

The subject is the photo I took last fall  (see Oct. 29) I’ve wanted to paint this but was a little apprehensive. Finaly I took the plunge.  This is the Result.

15 Responses to “It’s been along time”

  1. Oh Wow! I can’t even imagine the work that went into creating this. I have never worked larger than a half sheet 15″x22″, so I can appreciate the time and effort this took, Richard. The first thing that hit me is your superb ability with rendering texture. It is evident throughout. Love the light coming through the trees on the left promising the warmth of the sun in the opening after crossing the bridge. This says more about journeys than just paint on canvas. Love the inclusion of the bridge signs for narrow passage, too. A story in paint! How very awesome!

  2. I love this! I have always love vignette composition, and yours works so well. The size is mind-boggling for me, I have never done anything larger than a quarter sheet. You have my complete respect for taking on a piece this size and resolving it so beautifully.

  3. I remember that photo and thought it was lovely. You did an amazing job. I, like Leslie and Alex, can’t imagine working that large. Congratulate yourself, you did a fantastic job.

    I love how you handled the road and trees and I just want to follow it down to that beautiful blue sky.

    I predict you will be working on another large painting soon.

  4. I admire your courage…the largest I’ve ever worked is 22″ X 30″ and that was for an abstract painting. Very nice. I like the way you make me want to walk that road!

  5. That’s beautiful! I’ve missed your posts and your paintings, it’s so nice to see another from you.
    🙂

  6. Glad to see you back. Great painting, just love the details and teh colors. I can imagine how challenging it is to paint that large. I just tried it out my self on a mural. Will port it soon.

  7. Hello Richard, I came over from Leslie’s Blog to visit you. I love your painting, it is beautiful! I too have never done a painting this large before, but imagine you would have to back up to look at it to see what is going one once in a while.
    Excellent work!

  8. Welcome back Richard. The painting reminds me of Rambo I theme songs, “it’s a long road”. But not on the sad part more towards the road of hope. Amazing painting. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

