2010

This the largest acrylic I’ve done so far 20″ X 24″.  I’ve had this image in my head for a while, it is not any place in particular but is could be near my home on Lake Huron.  I wanted to frame the water with an old weathered fence.  I’m not sure if it  is finished wet.  I will stare ate for a while.

This  is not how I do watercolour at all.

9 Responses to “2010”

  1. I think it is really fun that you are painting from a picture in your head that you have envisioned over and over. Pretty incredible image you were able to design, that way, and it shows that you have spent many hours painting large bodies of water and skies and land. This is really beautiful as if from a dream. Makes me wonder who was just there.

  2. What an interesting composition. I can’t believe you did it from an image in your head. I love the broken fence and the footsteps down to the water.

  3. This is great, Richard!! You can easily follow that path right down to the cool water.

    I love your comment about how this is not how you do watercolors. My acrylics and watercolors are way different, too. Separate artistic personalities at work. 🙂

  4. I think you are right, there maybe a different personalities and work here.

  5. Interesting composition and story. I really get hung up on the paintings I see in my head. I don’t ever seem to be able to recreate them when I paint but I always seem to find that the attempt leads me somewhere good.

    • Most of the time I drive around my area with a camera and take lots of pictures (don’t you just love digital) but every once and awhile I get an Idea stuck in my head and then I try to reproduce it. Some times it works and some times it does not. the one reason I use acrylic is because it is more forgiving than watercolour. May be I will try the same image in watercolour one day.


Leave a Reply

